We recently released new Bipysync shareable note component functionality, enabling you to leverage distinct sharing models for content sections within a single note. It enables selected parts of a note to be shared among teams (or to remain private), in addition to sharing the note as a whole.
When added to our powerful sharing model, being able to customize which parts of a single note can be shared or kept private allows our users even more flexibility over who has access to research, without having to re-create shared and private information separately.
Once a chosen segment of a note has been been shared, it can be edited by anyone with whom it is shared with provided the note is also unlocked.
When sharing a segment of a note, the author simply selects who to share it with – the entire fund, certain user groups or teams, or individual users. This allows users to selectively pick who in the organization can access specific information from within their research content with confidence.
Why Have Private/Shared Information In-Note?
Being able to customize which parts of a single note can be shared or be private allows you flexibility over access to your research without having to muddy the process by copying shared information to one note and private information into a different note.
For example, a common use-case among our client-base is for meeting notes. Here, clients wanted the ability to capture and share meeting notes with all users across their fund to access (general note sharing model), but within the same note/workflow, wanted to maintain a separate content section with different sharing permissions for the author to either jot down their own thoughts (private in-note component) or write insights that are only relevant to their specific team (team-shared in-note component).
This new feature eliminates the need to maintain the same meeting note information in two places for different audiences, which can lead to duplication and research inconsistencies.
In providing a single source of truth for note content, from which to manage research information access across teams, authors can maintain the integrity of their original research content and be confident research is always accurate, up to date and secure.
Who Can Edit Shared In-Note Components?
A shareable component is always editable by the note’s author and Super Admins. It can also be edited by other users when the note and component are shared with them, and the note itself is unlocked for editing. If individual sections of a note are shared but the note itself remains locked, those users will be able to see the contents of that part of the note but won’t be able to edit it themselves.
If a part of a note is not shared with a user they will not be able to view or edit that component until it has been shared with them. This prevents users overwriting sections of a note that they are not yet able to see. Only the author of a note can change the sharing options for a field on that note.
If you have any questions, or this functionality sounds like it would fit your research workflows then, as always, please get in touch.